The Dear Reader: DPRK Observations & Musings

Icon

LiberateLaura@gmail.com

Thirteen Days of Mourning

In North Korea, the official 13-day period of mourning for Kim Jong-il continues through December 29, the day after his funeral. If they sang Christmas carols in the DPRK, an old standard could have easily been reworked to pay tribute to the Dearly Departed Leader. Especially since he remains eternally able to subjugate Mother Nature:

On the first day of mourning,
my Leader sent to me
A Manchurian crane in melancholy

On the second day of mourning,
my Leader sent to me
Two rock-carved sentences
And a Manchurian crane in melancholy

On the third day of mourning,
my Leader sent to me
Three cracks in the ice
Two rock-carved sentences
And a Manchurian crane in melancholy

On the fourth day of mourning,
my Leader sent to me
Four rays of sunrise
Three cracks in the ice
Two rock-carved sentences
And a Manchurian crane in melancholy

On the fifth day of mourning,
my Leader sent to me
Five fresh fish
Four rays of sunrise
Three cracks in the ice
Two rock-carved sentences
And a Manchurian crane in melancholy

Well, you get the idea. Merry Christmas, everybody, and to one and all, best wishes for a strong and prosperous 2012.

Filed under: Humor, Kim Jong-il

One Response

Leave a Reply

